Exhale

I can’t believe just a few posts ago, I had renounced talk shows. It looks like I will have to eat my words. It’s all because I saw a clip of this upcoming show:

Wow, go head ladies! I am feeling this show more than The Real, the talk show that made me shrug my shoulders.  I feel there is more diversity of looks/backgrounds of black women on “Exhale.”  It’s also an opportunity to see black women celebrities that have been underrepresented in mainstream media (AJ Johnson and Malinda Williams).

I have to admit I am also biased towards the show, because Issa Rae will be one of the hosts. Issa Rae is the creator of the hit web series “Awkward Black Girl.” As a DIY (Do-it-Yourself) artist, I love that someone like Rae (who developed and wrote her own show), will be given more exposure. It’s an opportunity for other black women to see, (that one doesn’t have to be an established celebrity), to be successful.  Whether it’s creating a show or any other business interests, it is doable. There are so many resources out there and people who will support you. It’s why I heart DIY culture!

I’m crossing my fingers that this show lives up to its potential 😉

The show premieres June 27th on the Aspire Network.

Leave a Reply

