My Black is Beautiful Documentary

The “My Black is Beautiful (MBIB)/Imagine a Future” documentary aired on BET (Black Entertainment Television), last week.  The documentary looked at how white/black beauty standards affect the self-esteem of some black girls/women.  The documentary is now available in full on YouTube.

I enjoyed the program, although I did have a few problems with it: (1) The irony that the documentary was shown on BET. If ya ask me, BET has contributed to the distorted images of black womanhood. I wouldn’t be surprised if BET played a music video filled with ambiguous looking booty shaking women, right after the documentary ended (2) I have mixed feelings that a blonde haired black woman showed the young woman around Africa. It seemed contradictory to me, but then again she was a hairdresser. I understand they like to experiment with different hairstyles.  (3) Once again, black men/boys were left out of the conversation. It’s interesting how gendered this issue has become. I mean I get that women tend to be judged more harshly for our looks, but it’s hard to believe that black men have not been affected by beauty standards, as well. Whether it’s their own struggle with embracing their skin tone/hair texture, or how they interact with black girls/women who do/don’t live up to these oppressive standards (4) The program was wayyyy too short.

But, you can judge for yourself:

Leave a Reply

