Winnie Mandela

I cringed when I heard Mary J Blige  was going to  play the brilliant Betty Shabazz in a lifetime film. I cringed when I saw pictures of Zoe Saldana in blackface for her portrayal of the high priestess of soulNina Simone. I cringed when I learned that Jennifer Hudson’s next role would be that of activist Winnie Mandela. It always seems to me that our black women icons aren’t taken seriously by Hollyweird. I can’t imagine someone like Britney Spears playing one of their beloved icons, like Janis Joplin. But I guess any old body can be ours.  I have nothing against the women I mentioned (well Zoe should know better), heck I’m a Mary J groupie!! But her as Betty Shabazz? Eh…

Winnie Mandela

The trailer for the upcoming “Winnie” film makes me less nervous, but praying the film truly represents the amazing Mandelas.

Leave a Reply

