The Walking Dead: Season Four

I don’t have cable. So, it’s just recently that I got a chance to watch the first two seasons of The Walking Dead, on Netflix. Of course, I was immediately hooked. I love all things sci-fi, horror, and action packed. I have read the grumblings of some hardcore fans that think the show is far less superior than the comics, but what can you do. Let’s be real, even on cable television, there’s only so much they can/will show. The comic is pretty graphic.  Personally, I think the show is good, not perfect, but interesting at least.

I haven’t watched the third season yet, so need to catch up, but the trailer for the upcoming season looks da bomb (yep, breaking out the 90’s slang):

My one issue  with the show has been the lack of diversity of characters. It has been especially strange, as the show takes place in the ATL (Atlanta, GA). Only one black person (T-Dog) in the initial group of survivors? Umm, okay. With this trailer, it’s nice to see more black folks in the mix, especially black women. It looks like we get a badass character in Michonne, played by Danai Gurira:

SPOILER ALERT!!! SPOILER ALERT!! SPOILER ALERT!!

I’ve read that in the comics, Michonne is horribly sexually assaulted. I know comic fans have been upset, the show has not stayed true to the  book, but I wouldn’t mind if this was left out. Heck, I wish it wasn’t in the comic to begin with. Why are black women characters always being depicted as downtrodden/beaten/raped.  It’s like they can only have a complex black woman character, if she’s been degraded in some type of way. Eh…but other than that, looking forward to seeing more of this new actress 🙂

 

 

Author: wocpdxzines

I enjoy reading, writing, and traveling!

Leave a Reply

