President Obama

Welp, President Obama has been a disappointment. Maybe I should have gone head and voted for Hillary Rodham Clinton. I was initially a big fan of hers. But, she probably would have sucked too. As a matter of fact, I know she would’ve, as she currently co-signs President Obama’s warmongering. Actually, I’m kicking myself for not voting for the Green Party’s president/vice president nominees: Cynthia McKinney  and Rosa Clemente. I’m ashamed actually. As someone who advocates for women of color leaders, why I didn’t  vote for them, is beyond me. I guess I got suckered into the two-party nonsense, like everyone else. But, not anymore. I am now an independent voter, as of the 2012 election.

President Obama has been a disappointment due to a few reasons…

(1) He tends to be disrespectful/condescending towards the black community  (you know, the people who got him the gig in the first place, YOU’RE WELCOME!). Let’s look at his recent comments at the 50th Anniversary of the March on Washington: “And then, if we’re honest with ourselves, we’ll admit that during the course of 50 years, there were times when some of us claiming to push for change lost our way. The anguish of assassinations set off self-defeating riots. Legitimate grievances against police brutality tipped into excuse-making for criminal behavior. Racial politics could cut both ways, as the transformative message of unity and brotherhood was drowned out by the language of recrimination. And what had once been a call for equality of opportunity, the chance for all Americans to work hard and get ahead was too often framed as a mere desire for government support — as if we had no agency in our own liberation, as if poverty was an excuse for not raising your child, and the bigotry of others was reason to give up on yourself.” HUH?!  Once again (like all of his speeches), this one was for his white audiences. I thought it was very insulting of him to try to sneak in the so-called pathologies of the black community. This was an event to honor those that sacrificed their lives for my freedom.  But that’s typical President Obama. The President and First Lady (who I used to LOVE, now she’s just okay to me)  did the same thing to black college students, this past summer. Instead of honoring these students at their graduation, the Obamas harped on what was wrong with black folks. Again.

Mrs. Obama (at Bowie State University) stated “Today, more than 150 years after the Emancipation Proclamation, more than 50 years after the end of ‘separate but equal,’ when it comes to getting an education, too many of our young people just can’t be bothered,”Today, instead of walking miles every day to school, they’re sitting on couches for hours, playing video games, watching TV. Instead of dreaming of being a teacher or a lawyer or a business leader, they’re fantasizing about being a baller or a rapper … ” This may be true for some black youth, but obviously not for the students in the audience, WHO ARE ABOUT TO GET THEIR DEGREES. Also, just because some black youth are slacking off now,  it doesn’t mean they won’t go on to accomplish great things. President Obama has admitted to being a lost youth, using drugs, etc., and he turned out okay.  It’s strange, how the Obama love to stereotype black folks. But, as I stated, these speeches really are for white audiences. It’s a shame we keep getting thrown under the bus for white approval. Because they damn sure aren’t doing this to the LGTBQ or Latina/o communities.

(2) Hanging out with Jay-Z and Beyonce.  This really chapped my hide, as I LOATHE Jay-Z and everything he stands for. Beyonce would be okay, if she got some backbone and rejected looking like a white woman for fame. But Jay-Z, ugh. I know he’s trying to be a mainstream “business man” now, but  the truth is he has gotten famous/rich off the degradation of the black community/women. Heck, he still does it. He still brags about “flooding streets (with drugs),” uses the N-word like it’s going out of style with his white audiences, and still refers to women (hell, his own wife and probably soon his daughter) as bitches. He’s just a tacky piece of work. Yet, who was President Obama kicking it with this past election? :/ That’s why I find his speeches so amusing. You scolding black folks to “act right,” yet hanging out with the  likes of Jay-Z. An unrepentant drug dealer. Yeah, I know some of it was to get financial support/look cool to the kids, but come on. It’s just hypocritical. I really have to laugh at how Mrs. Obama was running around being the biggest Beyonce fan. She said in her speeches to black graduates “aspire to be more than rappers/singers.” But she said this a year or so ago: “Gosh. If I had some gift, I’d be Beyonce, I’d be some great singer.” Um, hmm.  Thankfully, it looks like the Obamas have calmed down on their Jay-Z/Beyonce worship. But still, very telling.

(3) The President’s warmongering. As I type this, President Obama is preparing to drop drones on Syria, with the possibility (well he WILL) of killing innocent women and children. I wonder if the Nobel committee wish they could take back that Peace Prize? Wow, President Obama has been as bad as Bush. But, I guess it shouldn’t be surprising. President Obama has often talked about his love/admiration of Ronald Regan :/ I used to give the president the benefit of the doubt. When he first took office, I thought he had to play the game (initially) to get in good. I figured he would eventually flip the script, and truly live up to his promises in the speech, he gave election night ’08.  My face is cracked. I have more cynical friends, who said I should have known all along. That it really doesn’t matter the skin color/gender of the President, they won’t really challenge the status quo. Too many folks have an investment in keeping things just the way they are. Otherwise, things would have changed years ago for people of color, the poor, women, etc., but things have gotten worse.

I still believe in voting (just in case), as too many folks died for that. I do think there are some folks (like McKinney and Clemente) who would try to change things, if they could. And it’s why they will never be President/Vice President . In a white capitalist patriarchy, they are too much of a threat. President Obama, not so much. He has shown he’s really a conservative in sheep clothing. While I still think his win is admirable/symbolic,  it’s not enough for me anymore. I can no longer deny his anti-black/warmongering stances.

Cute, but disappointing
Leave a Reply

