Viola Davis Covers Essence Magazine

Wow! I just saw the new cover for the October issue of lessence Essence magazine. Forgive me, I’m still a bit bitter the magazine has fallen off. It was a great read back in the day. Before white corporate America, took it over.  Any who, Viola Davis looks great on the cover. I also like her quote:

“I had to defend myself as an artist, but I found myself defending myself as a dark-skinned Black woman in front of people who did not know my life. I took my wig off because I no longer wanted to apologize for who I am…

I’m feeling her on that. As a darker woman, I know the drama she has to deal with. We still leave in a society hostile towards darker skinned black  women.  Davis looks gorgeous. I just might buy this issue (gulp).

ESSENCE-October-Cover-Viola-Davis

Leave a Reply

