Lillie McCloud: The X Factor USA

As I approach my 40th birthday, I no longer give a damn. It’s one of the reasons why I started this blog. I was sick of seeing injustices around me and not voicing my opinions.  I mean, I do a zine (which I will write about in the future), but it wasn’t enough.  I had to figure out a way to reach people more easily/quickly. The rest is history, as they say.  As you get older, you realize time is precious. So, if you have an opportunity to do something, why not do it?

Lillie McCloud probably said the same thing to herself. The 54-year old recently tried out for The X Factor (USA):

There has been some controversy about the singer making it through auditions.  Not so much about her age (but in a way about her age). It turns out McCloud had a recording contract/made an album back in the 80’s. She’s really Nicole McCloud. She’s an old school dance diva.

I understand newcomers are meant to be showcased. But her short career was over 30 years ago, give her another chance to shine. I mean if Miley Cyrus can have a “singing” career and probably be allowed to make my ears bleed for the next 15 years…

I do think there is a bit of ageism going on. Fact is, McCloud looks better than most of dem folks on the stage. The music industry is very youth focused, especially these days. It’s why music sucks today. But she looks great, and can still sang.  I wish her well, but she will probably get kicked to the curb for some thin voiced 19-year-old white girl  :/

Author: wocpdxzines

I enjoy reading, writing, and traveling!

Leave a Reply

