Preachers of L.A.

The other day, I got the chance to watch Preachers of L.A. at a friend’s house. I’m not a big lover of reality shows, so I don’t bother watching online. But, when I visit friends, it’s fun to watch to pass the time. I’m not a very religious person, but even I was shocked by these preachers.  I really don’t know how their congregations take them seriously and give them their money. One of the preachers (Ron Gibson) tried to justify his/his fellow pastors excessive wealth/flash by stating, “P. Diddy Jay Z…they’re not the only ones who should be driving Ferraris or living in large houses.” Um, since when do preachers define themselves by secular standards? I’m not saying they have to live in the poorhouse. I do understand that preachers give a lot of themselves. They are basically on call 24/7. However,  I do think they should live humbly. It’s kind of alarming to me. I was going to say that religion has become style over substance (like everything else in the world), but it’s always been that way.  I can remember the opulent display of Jim Baker and Tammy Faye. And that was back in the 80’s…

 

 

Author: wocpdxzines

I enjoy reading, writing, and traveling!

Leave a Reply

