Janelle Monáe

How fitting I write about Janelle Monáe on Halloween. A couple of nights ago, I attended her concert.  I am still trying to process it. As a friend posted on Facebook, “it  was like having a bizarre dream.” Monáe rocked the stage. She brought energy and personality to her set. She’s a unique/confusing (in a good way) talent in the current bland entertainment industry. I’m not that impressed with the Miley Cyruses of the music world. Hell, I grew up with Madonna. The queen of shock and controversy. No one will ever top Madonna in skin and sin  😉

So, Monáe is a breath of fresh air. I actually feel stimulated/curious about what she’s going to do next.  She keeps you on your toes.  As she said at her concert, “are y’all excited for Halloween? we’ll see if I let you out–you’re in my house now!” *Gulp*

It was an amazing show. She performed songs from her new album The Electric Lady.” A solid album from beginning to end. My favorite jams are: Givin Em What They Love (feat. Prince)Q.U.E.E.N (feat. Erykah Badu), Electric Lady (feat. Solange), It’s Code, Can’t Live Without Your Love, and What An Experience.

Monáe’s opening act was da bomb too (yep, breaking out my 90’s slang). Roman GianArthur represents the soul that’s missing from current r&b music.He did impressive covers of Lauryn Hill’s “The Sweetest Thing” and Erykah Badu’s “Bag Lady.” He is a very talented young man. I hope to hear more from him.

So, if Ms. Monáe comes to your city. Get  those tickets.  It will be a concert you will never forget…

Photo from: Uptown Magazine
Photo from: Uptown Magazine

Leave a Reply

