a Madea Christmas

If you are a black woman with black girlfriends/relatives, at some point  you will be forced to watch a Tyler Perry film.  I’m not a fan, yet I have seen several of his movies. Last year, I visited my family for the holidays. I had to endure hours of Perry’s TV shows “House of Payne” and “Meet the Browns.” I can’t believe I made it out alive.   Many bloggers have deconstructed the classism/colorism, misogyny, and homophobia of Perry’s films.   And yes, these are some of the reasons why I am not a fan. I also think his story lines are just bad.  The films tend to be sooo dramatic to the point it becomes parody (I think this is why Perry also tends to be criticized for having minstrel characters). Yeah, yeah I know Perry’s richer than I will ever be (fans rhetoric).  Any who, Perry is playing Madea again (sigh). The film comes out December 13. I’m sure I will be seeing this whether I like it or not…

Follow-Up-Poster-1

Leave a Reply

