My Girl Crush Wins!!

Congratulations to Lupita Nyong’o for winning the Oscar last night for Best Supporting Actress! She looked wonderful and her beautiful spirit continues to shine through. What I love about Lupita is that she gracious about her time in the spotlight. I’m sure she knows  deep down that it’s not going to last. The media is very fickle. However, she understands the significance of her presence to little black girls around the world. She embraces it and that’s why I have so much respect for her.

Rock on Lupita 🙂

A friend on Facebook pointed out while it was nice that Ms. Lupita won, we should never forget the continued racist practices/history of the Oscars. I agree. It was a bit disturbing to learn that yesterday marked the 75th anniversary of Hattie McDaniel’s Oscar win. It was disturbing because McDaniel won for the role of a slave. All these years later, a black actress wins for a role of a slave. Meh. This is not to say folks are ashamed that these women are playing slaves (or at least I’m not), but rather there hasn’t been any diversity in what black women/folks win for:

MoNique won Best Supporting Actress in 2010 for portraying an abusive mother.

Jennifer Hudson won for Best Supporting Actress in 2007 for portraying a singer w/ a bad attitude.

Halle Berry won for Best Leading Actress in 2002 for portraying an abusive and sex-starved mother.

Double Meh. I understand the Oscars likes when folks play out of character/villains even. Denzel Washington has played some wonderful characters over his 20 year career (including Malcolm X), and yet he won an Oscar for the role of a corrupt cop.

I don’t begrudge these folks wins. As actresses/actors, I’m sure it’s an honor to win an Oscar, no matter what. It represents the highest level of achievement in their field. I just hope the future will bring diverse wins for black folks.  75 years from now, I don’t want a little black girl being happy that a black woman won for portraying a slave.  But I ain’t holding my  breath.

lupitapradaoscars3
Beautiful Lupita rocking her Oscar gown!

 

Leave a Reply

