Randomness: It Takes Two

Back in the day, I used to side eye my mom when she would get upset/cry when one of her fave old school singers passed away. I used to think it wasn’t that damn serious. Now that I am older, I get where she was coming from. When celebrities pass away, who we feel represent our youth, it’s shocking. (1) It’s a reminder that we will all pass one day and (2) our young days are over!  :O/

When Heavy D died a couple of years ago, I shed some tears. I consider myself second generation rap/hip hop (late 80’s to mid 90’s), and Heavy D was an icon from those days.  A time when Jheri curls, beatbox, and overalls w/ one strap unhooked, ruled the world.

So, when I heard that DJ E-Z Rock had passed away, my heart cracked just a little bit more.  They were part of that second rap/hip hop wave. I remember Rob Base and DJ E-Z Rock’s “It Takes Two” being played several times at my prom. Dang. Time goes by so fast…

So, RIP to homey. Also, shout out to other old school rappers who have passed away in the last couple of years: Ms. Melodie, Gangstarr’s Guru, Chris Kelly (of Kriss Kross) and few more I know am I forgetting.

Have a good weekend…1,2,3 get loose now!

 

 

 

Author: wocpdxzines

I enjoy reading, writing, and traveling!

2 thoughts on “Randomness: It Takes Two”

    1. Yeah, her death kind of went under the radar. It’s interesting she didn’t blow up like MC Lyte and them. I only really remember one song from her and her contribution to “Self Destruction.” Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

