Kevin Hart is anti-black woman

The unfunny “comedian” Kevin Hart continues to show his disdain for black women, particularly those of the darker hue. In a recent interview with Playboy he tried to justify his disparaging remarks about black women:

“I’m not a political guy. I don’t really deal with Democrats or Republicans. I don’t find that funny. And I don’t talk about the gay community, be it male or female. No thank you! It’s such a sensitive subject. I’ve seen comics get into serious trouble by joking about gay people. It’s too dangerous. Whatever you say, any joke you make about the gay community, it’s going to be misconstrued. It’s not worth it.

Listen, that was just me being silly on Twitter, playing on a trending topic. Some people were offended by it, but that’s always a risk with comedy. Nobody’s going to find everything funny. I didn’t feel I had to apologize for something that was misconstrued and taken out of context. I have no ill will toward women, not dark-skinned women, not light-skinned women. I was just being silly. I’m a comedian. Being silly is my job; it’s how I pay my bills.”

Obviously, I don’t think he should start insulting the gay community. However, he contradicts himself with his statement.  Basically, he is saying that humor should not be politically correct and black women should learn to take their “lumps.” BUT the gay community is off-limits because he doesn’t want to get into trouble. But shouldn’t all folks be fair in love and war, since that is what he is arguing?  Also, he doesn’t think he will get into trouble insulting black women?  I find that interesting. I think a lot of black male celebrities know they can get away being offensive towards black women, because of our status in this racist/sexist society.

Sadly, some black women agree with him:

“One has to wonder if black women should chalk up his comments as comedy, especially when we’re being used as the subject matter. Would people be happy if he started to tell jokes about gay people and stopped telling ones about dark-skinned women? Or, better yet, should Hart tell jokes about dark-skinned LGBT women and men? Thankfully we live in a world where free will exists. If people truly find Hart offensive, it’s just as easy to stop supporting what offends you.” Kevin Hart Claps Back Against Allegations of Hating Dark-Skinned Women

I think a lot of black women have absorbed the anti-black woman/anti-black racism that is currently dominating the entertainment industry.  Also, looking at the writer’s picture, she is not a very dark-skinned black woman. I think people do not understand the abuse and hostility very dark-skinned black women receive in this country. We don’t need an unfunny “comedian” trying to get his fame/project his low-self esteem on us too.

Black women should not let unfunny Kevin Hart continue to think it’s okay to drag us in mainstream media. Even our black girl children aren’t safe:

images
Hart mocks actress Quvenzhané Wallis on Saturday Night Live.

Things black women can do:

Boycott “Think Like A Man Too” (it will probably be on bootleg soon, anyway)

Let BET know you are upset Kevin Kart has a show on their network
(I know, I know BET the prototype for degrading black women, but give it a shot):
Black Entertainment Television
BET Networks
1235 W Street, NE
Washington, D.C. 20018-1211
202-608-2000
Hart is also on twitter,
so you can let your displeasure be know personally: @KevinHart4real
Author: wocpdxzines

I enjoy reading, writing, and traveling!

Leave a Reply

