Summer Eats/Drinks #1

As y’all know, I love collecting recipes. Whether I actually get around to making the yummy treats, is another thing.  Like most folks these days, I am on the go.  However, I am going to make an effort to kick out a dish or two.  This past Saturday marked the first official day of summer. What better time to try out fun recipes for upcoming late night socials, BBQs, etc.

This week I am dedicating the blog to some of the recipes I have collected. Get ready to grub!   😉

Besides collecting recipes, I also enjoy watching the Food Network.  I don’t have cable, so I have to catch up on the latest episodes on Hulu. The thing I have noticed about these shows, is the lack of Black women on them. Particularly, food competitions. The Black women contenders are usually weeded out during auditions. If they do make it through, they are shown as incompetent or the angry black woman stereotype.

This fascinates me, because the majority of black women I know are creative in the kitchen.  I think about my mom, grandmas, and aunties who could throw a meal together in a minute. Also, this country exploited the African woman’s knowledge of cooking, baking, and spices during slavery. It was the hard labor of black women that kept white families feed, at the expense of their own families.

It’s bizarre we are shown not even knowing how to handle a fork.

The fact these shows don’t feature many black women, is why I love finding blogs where black women are displaying their culinary skills.  One of my favorite black women food bloggers, actually focuses on cocktails. Whiskeysoaked is a mouth-watering inducing blog:

“Whiskeysoaked is everything you want to know about whiskey in one place. Here you’ll find whiskey reviews, cocktail recipes and other fun things.” http://whiskeysoaked.wordpress.com/2011/02/07/hello-world/

The blogger has started to make videos of the cocktails she mixes up. Check out this video where she makes a delicious Lavender Whiskey Sour.

  A great drink to put on your summer recipe list (if you grown)  🙂

Author: wocpdxzines

I enjoy reading, writing, and traveling!

Leave a Reply

