Summer Eats/Drinks #4

This last post on summer recipes is dedicated to my Uncle Bill. He passed away yesterday.

Uncle Bill was a cook for the military for over 30 years. He could do just about anything in the kitchen, but he could really throw down on some ribs.

He was a kind man and I will miss him.

Rest in Peace Uncle Bill 😦

***

I am not a health conscious person at all. I think folks should be able to eat what they want.  However, I know that’s not practical.  I guess we should incorporate fruits and vegetables into our meals, at some point :o/

I’m still working on “eating healthy” (blah). I found this smoothie recipe in a local paper. I Googled and I guess this drink is popular with health folks, which ain’t me.

It seems like a fun drink to try this summer though  😉

Purple Monster Fruit Smoothie

Ingredients: 2 frozen bananas, skins removed and cut in chucks, 1/2 cup frozen blueberries, 1 cup orange juice, 1 tablespoon honey (optional), and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional).

*You can substitute the orange juice with any mix of juices or even soy milk. The soy milk adds more of a milk shake quality than the juice does.*

Directions: Place bananas, blueberries and juice in a blender, puree. Use honey and/or vanilla to taste. Use more or less liquid depending on the thickness you want for your smoothie.

696215

Leave a Reply

