Patient.

I follow a group of amazing women of color writers. I love the group because I get introduced to their latest work.  “Patient.” is a new release by Bettina Judd.  The book of poems was the 2013 winner of Black Lawrence Press’ 2013 Hudson Book Prize. Go girl!

“A researcher lives with the ghosts of enslaved women after they visit her hospital bed. To appease them, she traces the stories of Anarcha, Betsey, and Lucy, three of the women who were subject to experiments by the father of American gynecology and finds that she is entangled in a history of medical subjection and display.” http://www.patientpoems.com/

I’m usually not a big purchaser of poetry books, but this is one I will definitely be adding to my collection.  🙂

 

Author: wocpdxzines

I enjoy reading, writing, and traveling!

2 thoughts on “Patient.”

Leave a Reply

