Goapele

Y’all,  I am about to pass out. I am so excited to see Goapele in concert this week. I bought my ticket months ago, so it’s been a long time coming. Goapele is such an underrated artist. I love that she’s passionately political and wraps it all up with beautiful, smooth vocals. Go girl!

“Goapele (pronounced gwa-puh-lay), which means “to move forward” in Setswana has been doing just that, moving forward and making her presence felt in the music industry since 2001 as an American soul and R&B singer/songwriter. Perhaps, her most endearing quality is her constant work with the community to give back to people in need. She has performed at rallies, demonstrations, and various political events around the world. In 2006 the California-based Ella Baker Center for Human Rights honored her with its first ever Human Rights Cultural Hero Award. http://goapele.com/about-goapele/

I haven’t had a chance to check out her newest album, but I forever bump her others. So I’m sure it’s good. This is one of my favorite jams from her…“I know we’ll find a way”  🙂

Leave a Reply

